EBA’s eye on 39 cross-border banks, says Natixis Equity Research

Natixis Equity Research has published the list of 39 European banks that will be required to develop and present crisis management plans to the European Banking Authority via their respective national regulatory authorities.

The plans are meant to detail how the banks would respond to a period of crisis.

Among the requirements, the plans will need to contain:

   – detailed information on the financial institution and its governance structure

   – a description of the options available to the institution should a crisis arise and an assessment of how these options would be exercised and the impact they would have

   – information on the measures that the institution intends to take to facilitate application of the plan in the event of a crisis.

The respective national authorities have until 23 March to submit feedback to the EBA on how they intend to comply with the recommendations it has issued on crisis resolution plans.

Natixis Equity Research commented: “Europe is following on from the US and Switzerland by demanding that its banks prepare crisis resolution plans. This is an important but purely technical step. More importantly, it remains to be seen what authority will be given the powers to ensure that the plans are implemented. One of the objectives of the proposed banking union is to entrust this role to a single oversight body that would be under the aegis of the ECB to limit national political interference. Yet, as things stand, national governments would still have an extensive role, notably in the financing of losses.”

Bank nameNational Competent Authority
Erste Group Bank AGFinanzmarktaufsicht (Financial Market Authority)
Raiffeisen Zentralbank AG
KBC Group NVBanque Nationale de Belgique (Central Bank of Belgium)
Dexia 5
Bank of Cyprus Public Company LimitedCentral Bank of Cyprus
Cyprus Popular Bank Public Co Ltd
Bayerische LandesbankBundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin), Deutsche Bundesbank (Central Bank of Germany)
Commerzbank AG
Deutsche Bank AG
Deutsche Zentral-Genossenschaftsbank AG
Danske Bank A/SFinanstilsynet (Danish Financial Supervisory Authority)
Alpha Bank AEBank of Greece
Eurobank Ergasias
National Bank of Greece
Piraeus Bank 16
Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria, SABanco de España (Bank of Spain)
Banco Santander SA
BNP Paribas SAAutorité de Controle Prudentiel (ACP), Banque de France (Central Bank of France)
Crédit Agricole Group 20 Groupe BPCE
Société Générale SA
OTP Bank Nyrt.Hungarian Financial Supervisory Authority (HFSA)
Allied Irish Banks, PlcCentral Bank of Ireland
Bank of Ireland
Intesa Sanpaolo SpABanca d’Italia (Central Bank of Italy)
UniCredit SpA
ABN AMRO Group NVDe Nederlandsche Bank (DNB)
ING Bank N.V.
Rabobank Group
DNB Bank ASAFinanstilsynet (Norwegian Financial Supervisory Authority)
Banco Comercial Português SABanco de Portugal (Central Bank of Portugal)
Nordea Bank ABFinansinspektionen (Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority)   
Skandinaviska Enskilda Banken AB
Svenska Handelsbanken AB
Swedbank AB
Barclays PlcFinancial Services Authority (FSA)   
HSBC Holdings Plc
Lloyds Banking Group Plc
Royal Bank of Scotland Group Plc
Close Window
View the Magazine

I also agree to receive editorial emails from InvestmentEurope
I also agree to receive event communications for InvestmentEurope
I also agree to receive other communications emails from InvestmentEurope
I agree to the terms of service *

You need to fill all required fields!