Guernsey signs double taxation arrangement with Luxembourg

Guernsey has signted a double taxation arrangement (DTA) with Luxembourg, taking to eight the number of jurisdictions with which it has similar agreements.

The others include: UK, Malta, Isle of Man, Jersey, Qatar, Singapore and Hong Kong.

Gavin St Pier, Guernsey’s Treasury and Resources minister (pictured), said: This is an important further component in Guernsey’s network of tax agreements. Following on so closely from the signing of our DTA with Hong Kong, it is further demonstration of Guernsey meeting the highest global standards of international tax co-operation.”

Rob Gray, Guernsey’s director of Income Tax, said: “This DTA will create a mechanism for alleviating double taxation and exchanging tax information with Luxembourg relating to both corporate and personal incomes. It also means that Guernsey’s network of agreements continues to cover the majority of EU Member States and G20 countries.”

In addition to the DTAs, Guernsey continues to sign Tax Information Exchange Agreements (TIEAs) with other jurisdictions. The latest have been signed with Botswana and Swaziland, taking the number of TIEAs agreed to 43.


Close Window
View the Magazine

I also agree to receive editorial emails from InvestmentEurope
I also agree to receive event communications for InvestmentEurope
I also agree to receive other communications emails from InvestmentEurope
I agree to the terms of service *

You need to fill all required fields!