Raiffeisen Switzerland nominates new chairman

Raiffeisen Switzerland has nominated Guy Lachappelle as the new chairman and also four new members to the board of directors.

The nominees will be proposed for election to the delegates at the Extraordinary Delegates Meeting on 10 November 2018.

Lachappelle has been chairman of the executive committee and CEO of Basler Kantonalbank since 2013. Previously, he worked in various bank management and corporate functions. He has a broad and well-founded banking expertise as well as experience in management, finance, sales and real estate matters. In addition, Lachappelle acts as a member of the board of directors in various committees, including the Association of Swiss Cantonal Banks.

Lachappelle will resign from Basler Kantonalbank on 22 October in order to take on the upcoming tasks in the third-largest Swiss banking group.

In addition to Lachappelle, the bank has also nominated Karin Valenzano Rossi, Andrej Golob, Thomas A. Müller and Beat Schwab to board of directors for election.

Valenzano Rossi has been a partner of the law firm Walder Wyss AG, Zurich, and the notary firm Jermini/Valenzano in Lugano since 2015. She has been active in the banking, finance and commercial sectors since 1998. Since 2015, she has been Finma’s investigator, since 2016 member of board of directors of Banca Raiffeisen Lugano and is judge of the Association of Swiss Asset Managers. She will cover the compliance profile of the board of directors of Raiffeisen Switzerland.

As a long-time executive at Hewlett-Packard and Swisscom, Golob has in-depth knowledge in the ICT sector and strengthens the Raiffeisen board of directors with IT expertise. From 2015 to 2017, he was CEO of the global financial services company Equatex AG. Since 2004, he has been a member of board of directors of Raiffeisenbank Olten, which he has chaired since 2008.

Müller has been a member of EFG International’s executive board since 2016, but will give up his position after his election to the Raiffeisen board of directors. From 2010 to 2016, he worked for Bank J. Safra Sarasin, where he successfully completed the integration of Bank Sarasin into J. Safra Sarasin as Group CFO. Müller is president of Swiss Takeover board and of board of directors of Credit Exchange AG. He brings both risk management and banking expertise to board of directors of Raiffeisen Switzerland.

Schwab has been a professional board member since 2017. His major mandates include the chairmanship of the publicly traded Zug Estates Holding AG and board memberships with the Swiss Federal Railways SBB and Credit Suisse Asset Management (Schweiz) AG. He is a bank and real estate expert and was head of Real Estate Investment Management at Credit Suisse AG from 2012 to 2017. Previously, he worked as CEO of Wincasa AG. He will lay down individual mandates, in particular those at Credit Suisse, at his own discretion in order to avoid conflicts of interest and to allow sufficient time for his work as a member of board of directors of Raiffeisen Switzerland.


Ridhima Sharma
Ridhima Sharma speaks German and is DACH Correspondent for InvestmentEurope. She has more than 8 years of experience in the media industry. Before joining us, she was working in India and covering automotive and lifestyle sectors. Over the years many of her stories have been published in various magazines across India.

Read more from Ridhima Sharma

Close Window
View the Magazine

I also agree to receive editorial emails from InvestmentEurope
I also agree to receive event communications for InvestmentEurope
I also agree to receive other communications emails from InvestmentEurope
I agree to the terms of service *

You need to fill all required fields!