Sweden’s Riksbank appoints deputy governor

Related Content Related Video Related Articles

Academic Henry Ohlsson has been appointed deputy governor at the Swedish central bank, replacing Katrina Ekholm, who left earlier this year to become state secretary at the Ministry of Finance.

Ohlsson is professor of Economics at Uppsala University, and has also served on the boards of the Swedish Public Employment Service and as chair of the Economic Council of Swedish Industry. He will leave these latter positions when he takes up his new post as a member of the Executive Board of the Riksbank.

The appointment was made by the General Council of the Riksbank.

Chair of the General Council Susanne Eberstein and the vice chair Michael Lundholm, said in a statement that: “Mr Ohlsson has considerable academic experience and has conducted research into areas linked to the labour market, wage formation and taxation. This provides a good complement to the other members of the Board.”

Ohlsson will start his six year term on 12 January.

The Executive Board of the Riksbank currently consists of six members: governor Stefan Ingves, first deputy governor Kerstin af Jochnick and deputy governors Per Jansson, Cecilia Skingsley and Martin Flodén.


Jonathan Boyd
Editorial Director of Open Door Media Publishing Ltd, and Editor of InvestmentEurope.
Close Window
View the Magazine

You need to fill all required fields!