Morningstar announces new ratings scale

Morningstar, the data and funds analysis company, is adjusting the naming of its new global Analyst Ratings system to avoid confusion with credit ratings.

The new rating scale will be: Gold, Silver, Bronze, Neutral and Negative.

Morningstar announced in June this year that it would launch the new Analyst Rating system. The aim is to create a single global standard of fund ratings, based on a continuation of the existing research and ratings methodology.

The new ratings will launch in the fourth quarter of 2011.

In the UK market, the funds rated by OBSR, a research business acquired by Morningstar, will be switched to the new ratings system in the first half of 2012.


Close Window
View the Magazine

I also agree to receive editorial emails from InvestmentEurope
I also agree to receive event communications for InvestmentEurope
I also agree to receive other communications emails from InvestmentEurope
I agree to the terms of service *

You need to fill all required fields!